Lowering Octave of a MIDI file

Hi everyone,

it's my first time using 3MLE and I've been having a blast with it!

I wanted to try importing a midi file and using it as a Song in Mabi, but the octave for it is too high. So my question is, can you lower the whole track? If yes, how?

Thanks for any advices!

On 2/5/2024 at 7:23 AM, PepaBulac said:

Hi everyone,

it's my first time using 3MLE and I've been having a blast with it!

I wanted to try importing a midi file and using it as a Song in Mabi, but the octave for it is too high. So my question is, can you lower the whole track? If yes, how?

Thanks for any advices!

Hey @PepaBulac,

While 3MLE is still a great tool and has plenty of uses once you master it, there are a lot more "built" in track editing tools in this editor, it is newer and actively maintained. You can find the download here:

Once you download it, it is available in english.

https://fourthline.jp/mabiicco/

I also recommend joining our discord for faster responses if you have Discord:
https://discord.gg/bU5YWPT

• 3 weeks later...

@PepaBulac

I will say that, for testing purposes, and for transcribing purposes (Example: Importing from midi files), I think Mabillco is a great tool to have, and it far surpasses 3mle in every single fiber of those aspects.

However, I still prefer 3mle for its editing. Even with Mabillco's updates now having a text editor of its own, it is completely barebones and lacking in a lot of important editing features (like search/replace, etc.) to the point where I'd rather use 3mle to do text editing (or, heck, Windows NotePad, for that matter). As well, I absolutely cannot stand Mabillco's UI. But that's just my preference; use whatever you feel comfortable with.

As for the question itself, keep in mind that the base octave at the beginning of scores is Octave 4. I typically type the text symbols < or > to denote octave changes within the score. (< to lower octave level, and > to raise the octave level)